Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 2 chord songs for beginners

Default 2 chord songs for beginners

I am holding a ukulele class at a retirement home. I decided to teach them F and C first to gets folks able to play a few songs quickly. The plan is to teach them G/G7 after they have acquired some strumming and fretting skills. It always seems like G/G7 is the biggest obstacle​ when folks get started. The idea is to get them enjoying the uke before they cross that hurdle.

Any suggestions on songs folks age 75++ would be familiar with that use the 1 and 5 chords in their key would be appreciated. We played Jambalaya and Dey all asked for you the first class.

As an aside, one student had self taught herself and was pretty good. She started playing at 92! I stayed after to show her some advanced stuff as she was bored. Said she was born in the 1920s.

Well done! I'll be playing some songs at a retirement home myself soon, and contemplating the very real possibility that some of my audience may have played ukulele themselves in the 1930s and be somewhat better than me at it! I also find it strange to think that many of the songs I enjoy playing (from the 1920s and 1930s) might be 'before the time' of anyone in the audience younger than 90 or so.

Anyway, I digress. The two songs that come to my mind are Clementine (In a cavern in a canyon excavating for a mine...) which can be played with only F and C7, and "Row, Row, Row you're boat" which can be played with just one (C) chord.

Code:
    In a [F] cavern, in a canyon, excavating for a [C7] mine,
    lived a miner ‘forty-[F]niner, and his [C7] daughter Clemen-[F]tine.
    Oh my [F] darling, oh my darling, oh my darling Clemen-[C7]tine!
    You are lost and gone for-[F]ever, dreadful [C7] sorry Clemen-[F]tine!

Light she [F] was and, like a fairy, and her shoes were number [C7] nine;
    herring boxes, without [F] topses, sandals [C7] were for Clemen-[F]tine.