Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Feedback/Advice wanted

Default Feedback/Advice wanted

So I sold the Vita Uke prototype to a buyer in New York. The uke is kept in a case with a humidifier and the soundboard joint has opened up. I have never had a joint fail in my over fifty years involvemnt in woodwork. Any ideas as to why this has happened? I have made other ukes in the same wood (Tasmanian Blackwood), my own uke hanging in the workshop is five years old and shows no sign of anything going wrong with it. Is this a climatic issue? could the humidifier introduce excess moisture, or is it just one of those things. I have no knowledge of using humidifiers, so others more experienced may wish to chip in here.
    Have other builders had issues like this?. Maybe this will be the last uke I export, just sell them locally and stick to selling my banjo ukes overseas, which in over forty instruments I have had zero issues with. Anybody?
    I have offered a full refund.
    Last edited by DPO; 07-30-2017 at 02:48 PM.
    Kind Regards
    Dennis

dponeil@xtra.co.nz
    Southern Cross Banjo Ukes & Ukuleles
    Proudly Hand Crafted in
    New Zealand.

Hey Dennis,

Lot of variables, but I'd start by doubting the excess moisture idea. It appears to have shrunk, not expanded (thoough from that angle difficult to say for sure).

One of those variables, of course, is you trusting the word of your customer when it comes to case storage. In most instances, it's right to do so. Then again, if you're searching for an explanation to avoid a reoccurence; well you weren't sitting with it in New York were you?

-------------------

Edit: And then again, I just remebered an instance where the joint edges weren't perfectly matched. It might pop open in that instance just from playing.

P.S: Do you have any sort of bracing other than around the soundhole?
    Last edited by southcoastukes; 07-30-2017 at 04:22 PM.
    Dirk Wormhoudt

email: sales@southcoastukes.com