Guitar Beginner - Open E string buzz

Marjorie1967

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I bought my first Taylor guitar less than 2 month ago (It's a gs mini e walnut.)
I have a problem that is very disturbing right now, the E string (big chord) is buzzing when playing without touching the fretboard.
And this buzzing sound will depends on the position/inclination of the guitar. If the guitar is on its stand or on its back, it's not buzzing.

The buzzing sound is when playing the E (open) but also when playing this string while touching the 11th, 12th, and 13th frets.

I am a beginner but I think this sound was always there but it was very light almost not audible and when playing fast on this string. But now, it's just terrible !
The guitar needs to be tuned more often also.

I didn't change the strings yet and nothing happened to the guitar. It's on its stand when I am not playing it.
I Play 1 to 2 hours a day.
I have other instruments for several years in the same room including a celtic harp and ukuleles and it has no problem.

Can you please tell me what to do ?
I bought the guitar on woodbrass website (France). I don't know if the Taylor warranty will work for this.

Thank you in advance,

Hello from Philadelphia!

Congrats on your first Taylor! I have a Taylor GS Mini (Spruce model) -- truly a joy to play. I love this little guy.

Buzzing strings are tricky and a pain, but fixable. Since it's only one string, my first thought is to replace the E string and see if that takes the buzz away.

If that doesn't work, since it is so new (and always had a buzz), I'd see if you can do an exchange through the website (I can be impatient at times).

Taylor has some trouble shooting on their website (https://www.taylorguitars.com/support/repair/fixing-string-buzz):

Things to check when you hear string buzz.