Been offered a custom uke as a gift, what should I ask for?

Evinsask

Reaction score
A smaller Chinese ukulele manufacturer (I would rather not name them) has offered me a custom uke as compensation for some online work I did for them. Any size, any material, any style, any picture or writing, anything I want them to do is exactly what they have offered. I have two of their commercially available ukuleles already and their quality seems very very good. I am a beginner so my opinions are only that.

I am thrilled with the idea but have no idea what to ask for! Other than a zero fret and beveled armrest, and maybe a side sound hole, I am at a loss. They will give me all the time I want to plan it. This is probably a once in a lifetime thing so I would like to get it right.

If you could describe your dream uke, what would it be? I need suggestions, please!

For me, personally, I'd be getting a tenor scale with a concert sized body, solid mahogany, it's what I have found is the best fit for me. :)

You lucky devil!
You should let them know what kind of wood you'd like. And which tuners too. And since it might be a one-off, ask for a hard shell case too.
Let us know what you get. I'm very curious!

I imagine that I will ask for koa, but whether it would be real koa or acacia is a question. And if so, does it matter?? It is exciting but really kind of stressful! Like an important new project at work! I saw a uke lately with koa back and sides with a spruce top and it looked great.

I do know I want a slotted head, and maybe 18:1 tuners rather than 14:1.

I had no idea they were going to offer this custom uke, I would have been satisfied with an off-the-rack one of their better models. ;)

Well its what you want. Not me. Having said that.............