Looking for an electric steel-string ukulele

anthonyarc10

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am new to the forum and in the market for an electric ukulele. I am not looking for an acoustic-electric, but a true metal-string instrument. Basically like a mini electric guitar with four strings (lol). I am not an expert and definitely don't have the time or experience to build anything myself. I have seen some that have looked great, such as the risa les paul electric, but at $500ish it is simply too expensive for my budget. Like I said I am a beginner, not an enthusiast- but I do appreciate quality and don't want to cheap out. I'd like to stay under $300, and for someone who can enjoy a $150 electric guitar, I feel like double the price should grant me a uke that would fit my standards (which I assume should be much lower than an experienced player/enthusiast). Like I said previously, I am a huge fan of the les paul design and would lean toward that if possible. There is one here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ptmXryifTD4&feature=youtu.be&t=1m00s

That is a custom uke that I can't find being sold anywhere, but if I could get something like that in my price range that'd be a dream. Sorry for the length of the post but I realize what I'm asking is very specific/difficult and I want to be sure to cover everything.

TL;DR:
-fully electric metal-string uke
-under $300 (the lower the better)
-Les Paul preferred

You can do a search in the forum, there have been a number of posts about steel string electrics. Or do a Google search for a Vorzon ukulele.

A Vorson Flame Maple or Quilted Maple ukulele has the shape you are looking for in a tenor size. They run about $136. Swap out the single coil pickups for some humbucker pickups for about $120. This will improve the sound. You are still under your $300 budget. Spend just a little more to replace the jack and potentiometers for better units.

Next, save up for a slapback delay pedal.