Strings and Volume

Jan D

Reaction score
I've been playing ukulele for a few months now and have a question for the Forum. If I replace the existing strings on a ukulele with new ones (same type and brand), will the volume of the ukulele increase? Or is volume mostly determined by the type and brand of string, rather than the age of the strings?

Thanks for any info you can provide!

Last edited:
How old are the ones on the Uke?

Some of the better quality strings can really last a long time, so it would have to be some pretty harsh conditions and extreme amounts of playing to wear down the sound, so that new ones sounded better...

I purchased the tenor ukulele (an Ohana TK-35-CG) new about four months ago. However, it was part of the music store's inventory for quite some time before I bought it. In fact, I think this particular model is no longer available, except from dealers who stocked up on it before production ended. I love the look and feel of the uke, but it is quieter sounding than my soprano (Kala KA-SLNG), and I wondered if the softer volume might be due to the original strings (Aquila), which have been on the uke for an indeterminate length of time. Do strings continue to age and/or deteriorate when they are not being played?

What strings fitted are very unlikely to affect the volume ... the quality of the sound, the sustain and/or the tone, but not the volume.

Basic physics ... the volume is defined by how much deflection is applied to the string before it's released and the efficiency of the instrument body in converting that energy into sound-waves.

If it's pure volume you're after, you'd be better served retaining the strings and replacing the ukulele ;)

Last edited:
Hi Jan!

Do strings continue to age and/or deteriorate when they are not being played?

If it's pure volume you're after, you should increase string tension by thicker strings.