Hand made (by me) ukuleles

jupiteruke

Reaction score
I am a small builder, who has been at ukulele building for a couple of years now. I have worked very hard to make an instrument which both looks wonderful, as well as sounds great. I am in Eastern Pennsylvania, and have been using local woods almost exclusively. Many of my back and sides started with me, a tree, and a chain saw. Sycamore is wonderful, but it has to be cut just right, which requires treating each cut in a special way. (My sycamore is better than almost anything one could buy.) My favorite top wood is redwood recycled from old water tanks that used to be on the top of apartment buildings in New York City. I currently have a number of instruments for sale, ranging in price from $500 to $700 These can be seen on my web site (recently edited) "jupiteruke dot com", as well as an activity blog, some testimonials, sound samples, some other instruments, some examples of custom pearl inlay, etc.

I love wood and have come to really like building instruments. There is always something new to try, some lovely piece of wood that I have come across/harvested, some way that I can make things better. (My overall goal is to make every instrument better than the last one.) I am retired from my 'day job', and I do not have to build/sell ukuleles to put food on the table, which gives me a great deal of freedom. I mostly sell them to support building the next ones, tools, and my wife does not think we need to have 10 or 12 ukuleles around the house.
- Jonathan Dale

Attachments

• IMG_20170621_090842.jpg
    IMG_20170621_090842.jpg
    98.8 KB · Views: 394
  • IMG_20170621_090814.jpg
    IMG_20170621_090814.jpg
    98.4 KB · Views: 444
  • IMG_20171027_182828.jpg
    IMG_20171027_182828.jpg
    101.8 KB · Views: 287
  • IMG_20170210_133819.jpg
    IMG_20170210_133819.jpg
    101.4 KB · Views: 348
  • IMG_20170210_141529.jpg
    IMG_20170210_141529.jpg
    99.6 KB · Views: 307
Last edited: