Do I need to have a humidifier/dehumidifier

Andy D

Reaction score
I'm a beginner and I was wondering if I need special humidity control device?

If you can help that would be much appreciated.:)

If your uke(s) is/are laminate, no. If you have solid wood instruments (or solid top), you should have a humidifier unless you live where the humidity in your house is fairly constant and above 40%. Forced-air heat in winter and air conditioning in summer will probably cause the humidity to be lower than that.

I live in a dry climate with forced air heating in winter & AC in summer. I had a laminate uke with a wood fretboard that developed rough fret edges fairly quickly last summer without any humidity in the case. I now keep a humidifier in the case with my laminate uke.

Ok well, so far I haven't been controlling the humidity around my uke and haven't had adverse effects.

I don't know what to look for in order to know if it is not being stored properly.
if anyone knows the signs of bad humidity let me know

Our house is extremely drafty and the humidity drops a lot in the winter. When the heat runs, I keep my only all-solid instrument in a case with a humidifier. I have two others (my Islander and my KoAlana) with fretboards that shrink a little when the heat runs. I keep them in an unused wine chiller (fridge). It works wonders. Some laminates are more sensitive to humidity variation than others. My Kalas seem totally unaffected, as do my two MFCs with wooden fretboards.

Ok well, so far I haven't been controlling the humidity around my uke and haven't had adverse effects.

I don't know what to look for in order to know if it is not being stored properly.
if anyone knows the signs of bad humidity let me know