Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Pono Strings (quite surprised)

Default Pono Strings (quite surprised)

I recently started playing ukulele after several years of playing guitar. I recieved a Makala Dolphin as a gift and I was surprised how much I liked it. It's all I was playing for a while, so I decided to get a tenor and bought a Pono MTD from HMS (great place).

I've had it for two months now and despite reading several opinions (on UU) that many folks didn't love the strings that shipped on it (which I believe are Ko'olau Mahana) - I decided I'd give it a while before changing them. I've had "luke warm" feelings about the Pono up to this point to be honest. So today, I switched strings for the first time. I put on some Worth Browns, and after tuning up, I was frankly shocked. I realize that strings make a bigger diffence on a uke than they do on a guitar - but holy cow. The whole thing suddenly seemed to ring-out with this melodic personal voice! I was expecting some difference, but not this...

I realize strings are quite subjective, but I'm somewhat suprised they keep shipping them with these strings when so many have had less than stellar feeling about them.

So +1 to the already numerous opinions here on UU that if your uku isn't sounding great to you, swapping out strings might be worth a go.
    Last edited by mtwomey; 03-23-2018 at 11:33 AM. Reason: spelling

I clicked on this thread expecting to read good things about the strings, but it seems like the guys at HMS are the only true fans of these strings lol. I guess it's not surprising given that they're directly connected with Ko'Olau. I have a Pono AT on the way and didn't opt to change the strings because I wanted to try them out. Can't wait!!

Well, I'm not sorry I gave the strings it shipped with a good solid try for a while. You never know, for your specific uku and your ears - they might be perfect. But if you're not loving it, see what a different set has to offer for sure :-)