Thread: strings for bari tuned gcea 1 octave down?

Default strings for bari tuned gcea 1 octave down?

I saw a youtube thing where a baritone uke was tuned an octave below linear gcea tuning. It sounded pretty good as a change-of-pace sound. I have an extra bari or 2 so I thought I would try out this octave tuning.

By the way ... I am not technically gifted but I *think* octave-low strings should be those which are high enough tension so they don't flop around. Right or wrong?

In any event, I will VERY much appreciate any string suggestions. ��
    Last edited by bellgamin; 03-29-2018 at 06:43 PM.

Guadelupe were the first to produce strings in this tuning, but I think there are others now
    http://forum.ukuleleunderground.com/...Custom-Strings

https://www.southernukulelestore.co....m-set-for-sus/
    http://www.kenmiddleton.co.uk/living-water-strings/

I'm not sure if Aquila GCEA bari strings are low or not, but you could ask Mimmo, he makes them, & is often on this forum.
    Trying to do justice to various musical instruments.

Quote Originally Posted by bellgamin View Post
    I saw a youtube thing where a baritone uke was tuned an octave below linear gcea tuning. It sounded pretty good as a change-of-pace sound. I have an extra bari or 2 so I thought I would try out this octave tuning.

By the way ... I am not technically gifted but I *think* octave-low strings should be those which are high enough tension so they don't flop around. Right or wrong?

In any event, I will VERY much appreciate any string suggestions. ��
    Your guess about "floppy" strings is correct ... also too tight is not a good thing!

My usual procedure for this sort of thing is to use one of the on-line string tension calculators to work out what the normal string tension is, for any given tuning and string length, then using the same calculator "in reverse" to best-guess the string diameter needed for different tuning at a similar tension.