Thread: Roy Orbison build

Cool Roy Orbison build

Hi all, I wonder if anybody out there can help me please?
    I'm looking to build a concert or soprano copy of Roy Orbisons Gibson ES-335.
    Scaled plans would be great lol
    I have no knowledge what so ever in building but would love to give it a go.
    I figured that if I get the body shape sorted I can follow plans to do the rest.
    Any help or ideas much appreciated.

Quote Originally Posted by Slickstone View Post
    Hi all, I wonder if anybody out there can help me please?
    I'm looking to build a concert or soprano copy of Roy Orbisons Gibson ES-335.
    Scaled plans would be great lol
    I have no knowledge what so ever in building but would love to give it a go.
    I figured that if I get the body shape sorted I can follow plans to do the rest.
    Any help or ideas much appreciated.
    So. You have zero building experience yet you want to copy a pretty difficult guitar shape for your first build!
    Buy a uke kit from Stew mac and gain some experience, then consider your next move.
    Last edited by DPO; 04-08-2018 at 03:21 PM. Reason: typo
    Kind Regards
    Dennis

dpophotography@yahoo.co.nz
    Southern Cross Instruments
    New Zealand

Sage advise from Dennis!!
    Not to be mean or cruel but that's a pretty ambitious start. Starting with a kit or something a little easier would be really beneficial. After you get a few successful builds under your belt you can get more aggressive and try different things.
    There is so much info out there between the builders here and youtube, books like the Hana Lima 'Ia book available from them directly, that you can make a really good start.
    Don't be discouraged but encouraged.
    Really, all the best.
    th
    My Real name is Terry Harris

Well thanks for the advice guys, yes it's ambitious but ya gotta aim high lol.