Is Rick Turner still around the forum?

Tudorp

Big guy with a lil' uke..
UU VIP
Reaction score
I was wondering if Rick was still around? Being a hobbyist making Ukes several years ago, Rick was kinda rough on me, but, him being a re-known professional, I understood and respected why. Even though, I learned a lot from him conversing with him, and his posts and wondered if he was still around. I always wanted one of his Ukes, but could never afford to have one.

I've not seen him on UU in about 2.5 yrs.

There was some drama around that time, and he has not been back here.

Also, IIRC, he was having some issues in his personal life, but I dont remember what they were.

I agree that he often provided lots of great info, even if in a sort of gruff manner.

I concluded that he was likely a bit stressed by things outside UU, and while also losing patience with all the newbie questions about luthery and pickups, and kind of just moved on since he got tired of it all.

Rick got fed up with being asked to repeat himself and also like a few of us here, exasperated over requests for advice masquerading as desires for ratification. After a few years I think we just about covered everything there was to cover and if anyone still has questions a thorough search of this forum will generally yield the answer. I think is now functioning more as a beauty parlour rather than anything else and why not. When you have said it all why say it again?

I met with Rick in Santa Cruz in 2016. Still full of opinions, interesting, generous and kind to me. Ought to have retired but either can't or just doesn't want to.

He stormed outta here one day after he had taken his wrath out on me, and a few others, for disagreeing with him.
I think he was spring loaded in the pissed off position.

I just spent 4 days in a booth next to Rick's where he was doing repairs at the Strawberry Music Festival.