How the chords are named on ukulele?

abhinav

Reaction score
Aloha!
I am having hard time understanding why the chords are named the way they are? I mean, in Am-chord, we press second fret 4th string which is Am note. Same for the C chord, but why F-chord is F-chord, when we are pressing F and Am notes? Why F chord is combination of notes (F + C + Am + A) and not something else?

I found some explanation on this site, but it does not completely answer my question.

I am a beginner, sorry if it is too obvious.

hello Abhinav,
everybody has to start somewhere, so no worries! what you are calling an Am note is an A note. we combine notes to form chords which is where 'major' or 'minor' comes into play. plenty of other members will chime in with more useful information, I'm sure. you should try to find a beginner's book, there a many to choose from.
good luck and enjoy your journey!
-Ramone

The easiest tool to learn music theory (as far as chords and such are concerned) is probably the Fretboard Toolbox by Scott Sharp. There's one available for ukuleles (and baritones, too) on the Fretboard Toolbox site. The free preview covers the key of C, and there are some videos that accompany the book.

The easiest tool to learn music theory (as far as chords and such are concerned) is probably the Fretboard Toolbox by Scott Sharp. There's one available for ukuleles (and baritones, too) on the Fretboard Toolbox site. The free preview covers the key of C, and there are some videos that accompany the book.

This makes sense, and cleared one important point to me that it doesn't matter which order you are playing the strings (GCEC/ CGEC/ CCGE and so on..), it is indeed a C chord. Now this raises another question which is aligned with my original question that why 1,3,5 is used for Major chords? What makes these numbers special? Why only three? and so on...

Chords are usually made of 3 or more notes, typically aligned in 3rds.