Outdoor Ukulele Tenor (low G)--how does it work for you???

Tonya

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
I'm seriously considering an Outdoor Ukulele, tenor model, strung low G. It'd be great for road trips and outdoor activities. I've listened to the sound samples and read reviews, but the return policy leaves me feeling a little vulnerable (20% restocking fee).

At this point I'm looking for real-world experience from regular players...

1--Any input regarding the sound/playability of this instrument, especially for fingerpicking (I don't do a lot of strumming)?

2--The tenor "carbon" model (priced slightly higher) is said to be 15% "brighter" in sound. I kinda like a fuller sound (my two tenors are both koa and deliver that); I don't expect this instrument to compete, but wonder if the even "brighter" sound would be *less* of what I like, rather than more...?

Thanks for your opinions!

I have no experience with this OU, but I have read that wound strings will wear the plastic down in time - I think I read it even voids the warranty. So, you would be best using a non-wound low G. Maybe the Aquila Red non-wound low G?

I have a OU tenor and it gets the most playtime out of my collection. I have small children and love being able to carry it around and lay it down on the floor without fear of my kids damaging it. I find the sound is less twangy than a traditional wood ukulele. I fingerpick on it and have no complaints. It is not as loud as a traditional wood uke, but can be played loud with some effort. I prefer the softer sound as it is my practice ukulele and kids go to bed early. It plays well softly. I currently have it strung regular tuning with Aquila nylgut. I do not like the stock strings. I'm not a fan of clear nylon fishing line strings. I also have a soprano, but prefer the tenor. The soprano does get played daily by my 7 year old, and he loves it.