All Strings Sharp at the 12th Fret??

Jakelele

Reaction score
Hello all,

Newbie here. Been playing for about 4 months now, and I just noticed something a couple days ago. I play a Kala - Pwt and when the open strings are all in tune, all the notes on the 12th fret are sharp.

Not that I've ever actually played up that far ;) - but I don't think that is normal.
Anybody know why that my be happening and what if anything I can do about it?
Thanks for any help!

It's "normal" (or at least common) for mass manufactured ukuleles in the lower or mid range price segment. My one experience with Kala was similar (worse), but it is really not an issue limited to them and it doesn't mean the instrument is bad or you wasted your money (it's fixable). It's the reason why many people here recommend to buy ukuleles only from stores that include "set up", which means fixing problems like the one you've discovered (plus other things such as high string action, uneven frets, etc) before shipping it to you. The good news is that this is very easy to fix, so if you have a store with a guitar tech around, they can do it for you quickly and cheaply. You can also learn how to modify the nut or the saddle (requires some tools) which is a good skill to have. Sometimes using different strings helps, especially if it's just one string that is sharp (often the third and second strings, but if all strings are sharp in the 12th fret, the instrument needs to be properly set up. (It's really worth it, you may be surprised how well it plays after those tweaks!)

Hello all,

Newbie here. Been playing for about 4 months now, and I just noticed something a couple days ago. I play a Kala - Pwt and when the open strings are all in tune, all the notes on the 12th fret are sharp.

Not that I've ever actually played up that far ;) - but I don't think that is normal.
Anybody know why that my be happening and what if anything I can do about it?
Thanks for any help!