Mouth harp won't blow!

Nickie

Reaction score
Hey, I have two mouth harps (harmonicas) that I cannot blow a note from certain holes. I can draw, but no blow.
I'm a rank beginner, could I be doing something wrong?
Could it be bent or warped reeds? I heard that reeds can be changed, but I have no idea where to order new ones. One of the harps is less than 2 months old....

Reeds can get stuck in their slots because the rivet holding it is loose or a burr, etc. Sometimes a bit sharper blow will unstick it. Sometimes you might have to remove the cover and muck around a bit - unless the covers are nailed on, in which case you're mostly out of luck. What's the brand?

If you remove the covers, make sure the reeds are directly over the slots. You can push them a bit (not hard) to reposition them. Also you can carefully push them into the slot to check their fit. Also look for food particals (yuk!) or other nastiness gunking up the reeds. You should also rinse out your mouth before you play and slap the harp hole side down on your palm when you’re finished.

I played and worked on them for years. I still play some of mine once in a while.

Last edited:
Reeds can get stuck in their slots because the rivet holding it is loose or a burr, etc. Sometimes a bit sharper blow will unstick it. Sometimes you might have to remove the cover and muck around a bit - unless the covers are nailed on, in which case you're mostly out of luck. What's the brand?

Jim, they are all Hohners. And they're all screwed together.

Thanks D.U.D. I'll have to look into that!

Definitely unscrew the covers and have a look around. Is there any pattern to the holes having trouble? Which holes and key of harp?

If your harps are diatonic (10 hole) & you have furry pets, it's likely a strand of fur is blocking it.