New Kala Ka-atp-ctg or used Cordoba 35t all acacia?

Which would you think is better for me?

• used cordoba 35T

Votes: 2 25.0%
  • Kala cedar top, acacia lam sides

Votes: 6 75.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

trsarah

Reaction score
Any thoughts? I'm an advanced beginner learning fingerstyle and I'd like a nice step-up uke. Right now I only have a beater all-laminate instrument. I've plaed Cordobas before and really like the lightness and neck profile. It seems like it comes from a reputable guitar shop that has played it and checked its action. I've heard of Cordobas having some issues, and actually a 20-tm I played did develop buzzing after about a year.

Kala is a cedar top and laminate acacia sides. I haven't played Kalas but I like a thinner, flatter neck because of hand issues, and I'm looking for a sweet, bell-like sound with lots of sustain. Had an older model Pono all-mahogany and it sounded too mellow to my ears, plus I didn't like the neck. I'd buy it from Uke Republic along with some kind of case. They both end up being about mid-300s including the cases and shipping.

Smaller points: I'm clumsy and I have very young children, so the Kala may be better in terms of ruggedness, perhaps? I'd also like something that would have the best resale value.

Thank you! I would be so grateful.

Last edited:
At HMS these are currently $499 and $275 new. If the Cordoba is in good shape, I think it fits your criteria better. I wouldn't count on either being particularly rugged around young children though. ;)

I have the Kala in a tenor cutaway, it is one of the best sounding and playing ukes I've tried, comes close to even the $1000 K brands. Really good projection, resonance and sustain. The only Cordoba I've seen and played in person is the low end model, not so good.

8 tenor cutaway ukes, 3 acoustic bass ukes, 8 solid body bass ukes, 7 mini electric bass guitars