Ukulele Beginning Music Reading

tommyboy

Reaction score
I am a newbie to the uke and wondering if there is value in taking the course offered by Terry Carter - Ukulele Beginning Music Reading. Also thinking about taking some of his other courses. Has anyone had experience with any of Terry's courses. Terry Carter has a website ukelikethepros.com

This kind of course probably suits some and not others ... my first impression is that it's not cheap!
Can you already read music or are you starting from absolute scratch?
Do you have any fretboard experience (guitar, banjo, mandolin etc) or are you a total novice?
Some of the "old fashioned" ukulele "methods" are available for free download as a pdf and will cover a lot of the absolute basics, you might save yourself some cash and start there.
Doubtless other recommendations will follow ;)

Good luck ... and enjoy :music:

I'm self taught, but I did remember a little bit from my school days about some music theory lessons they gave us, when we wern't interested. :rolleyes:

But all you need is to know where to put your fingers, be it chords or single notes, so I'd say, get yourself a fretboard map, a chord chart, & one of those 'scale' maps that show where the notes are on the staff, plenty are on the internet.

If you need a systematic approach, Terry's seems to fit that bill. I agree with you; it is important to learn to read music. Otherwise you will be stuck with the vampy/campy uke music that makes people snicker. If you can read music, you can play anything written for any instrument, and not be stuck in the uke songbook box.