Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: One note always sounds out of tune

Question One note always sounds out of tune

I'm a complete beginner, using the Yousician app to learn ukulele on a Makala Dolphin soprano. I've been getting along quite well, but for some reason whenever I play the note at the second fret of the C string (D, presumably) it sounds out of tune. I've tuned the ukulele before playing and every other note sounds fine, on that string and the others!

When I play along to songs on Yousician almost every D note that I play gets marked as wrong, even though I'm definitely at the right fret. Any ideas for what I'm doing wrong?

Also, somewhat off-topic to my original question - is the concert size better for learning on than soprano?

Thank you.

What does your tuner say?
    Regards,
    Michael
    BrŁko Soprano #4

Quote Originally Posted by mmn View Post
    What does your tuner say?
    It confirms all four strings are in tune.

Can you check that one note with your tuner? Not the open string, that particular note. Use the chromatic setting.
    I don't want to live in a world that is linear.

https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_n...tective+Agency

Quote Originally Posted by poorlittlefish View Post
    I'm a complete beginner, using the Yousician app to learn ukulele on a Makala Dolphin soprano. I've been getting along quite well, but for some reason whenever I play the note at the second fret of the C string (D, presumably) it sounds out of tune. I've tuned the ukulele before playing and every other note sounds fine, on that string and the others!

When I play along to songs on Yousician almost every D note that I play gets marked as wrong, even though I'm definitely at the right fret. Any ideas for what I'm doing wrong?

Also, somewhat off-topic to my original question - is the concert size better for learning on than soprano?

Thank you.