Tiny Pickup

Jerryc41

Reaction score
Last night, a friend had a tiny pickup on top of the bridge of his soprano. It was between the bridge and the strings, so that the strings held it in place. There was an opening for a mini plug. He's going to send me info on it. Have any of you ever seen anything like that?

Yes, I've seen it online for years. I have no experience with it, but I like the innovative thinking. If I'm not mistaken it was originally designed for guitars.

8 tenor cutaway ukes, 5 acoustic bass ukes, 9 solid body bass ukes, 7 mini electric bass guitars

• Donate to The Ukulele Kids Club, they provide ukuleles to children's hospital music therapy programs. www.theukc.org
• Member The CC Strummers www.youtube.com/user/CCStrummers/videos

It is passive. If that is going to make a difference it is something to note.

I have a UK-1. It's a good way to temporarily electrify your uke.

1) It only works on a tie-bridge.
2) You WILL need a pre-amp or DI to tame it. It quacks, a lot. I use a Behringer ADI-21, cheap & effective.
3) When I use it I worry about the jack end of the pickup catching on something and breaking.
4) It picks up Every. Little. Touch. On. The. Soundboard. Clean technique is imperative.
5) It is as true to sound as any other piezo pickup. See # 2. above.

You might consider an iRig Acoustic Stage if you are looking for a small, non-invasive pickup. Seems to have several advantages over the Kremona UK-1