Flute/Harp player interested in Uke!

gingersnap

Reaction score
Hi Everyone! I have a very musical background and I'm interested in picking up the Ukulele to have an instrument that I can travel with and/or bring to jam sessions with other musicians.

I have played flute for 16 years. Mostly classical music.
A couple years before I went to college, I picked up alto flute and played that with a campus flute choir all through college.

I started playing harp 8 years ago. I have a lever harp and a pedal harp. I mostly play Scottish music (have competed a few times at Highland Games around the country) but I started learning some classical music on pedal harp.

I am capable of the basics on piano (had to learn a little as a music major....) I also took a year of composition in college and LOVED that.

My ultimate goal as a musician is to get my harp therapy license in a year or two. I graduated college in 2016. I am now in the throes of wedding planning - that is taking up most of my free time, so the therapy license is a bit on hold right now.

However, flute is not a very popular instrument to bring to a "jam sesh" (even though it is compact and travels easily). Harp is great for jamming but is cumbersome and doesn't travel well. Can't take it on a trip without babying it the whole time. Camping/beach/etc are very unfriendly places for a harp. So I have been wanting to learn Ukulele to fill the gap.

I think I have narrowed down my choice to the Kala KA-C concert ukulele. I'm debating between getting the "regular" model or the KA-CG gloss. Any difference in sound? Is this actually a good model or am I about to spend money on a lemon?

Anyone else out here start their musical journey on an instrument vastly different from ukulele?

Looking forward to learning with / from you all!! :)