Help - muted sound

Loveiz

Reaction score
I recently got Concert Uke and wanted a low G sound so fitted a Fremont wound low -G.
Is sounds great.
Only problem is , I slackened off the other strings to enable me to tuck in the tail of the new string at the end and now I have a muted sound or dull sound from the C EA strings! Have I done something dumb? Or does it take a few days to settle after re-tuning?
Wish I'd left the tail loose, as it was fine before.aaaaaaaaaaaagh.

Stupid question but are you tuned back up to the same pitch as before?
Can you post a pic of the bridge where the strings are tied off?

Sorry Jim your dealing with a beginner here.
Not too sure what you mean regarding pitch. After tidying the strings. I have simply tightened the strings up and used a snark tuner.
I realise it may take a day or so to be settled but it sounds so dull now.

I'll try and post pic of the bridge.

Jim,
This is bridge end
Just looking at pitch it would seem the plucked strings sound flat.

Attachments

• IMG_0190.jpg
    IMG_0190.jpg
    94.3 KB · Views: 69
Last edited:
I don't see anything wrong with the bridge. If you're using a tuner p, and it is reading GCEA, and the strings feel about the same as they did before, then I am at a loss. It is possible the strings are tuned an octave too low. If so, they would be very loose and floppy. And the C would sound lower than your low G.

Jim,
Just realised I tuned the new low G string to G# which was making the whole thing sound so different.
Appreciate you replies.

That would certainly mess up your chord voicings. :p
But wouldn't do anything about dull or muted - unless I don't understand what you mean by that.

So it all sounds ok now? If not, it would help if you can post an audio or video sound sample somewhere.