Do I need to learn music theory to play the ukulele?

Absolutely not. I played guitar for almost 50 years and knew nothing about music theory in all that time. Same with the ukulele I started playing 5 years ago. I've been told many times I'm a good player, when I was playing guitar and now with the uke.

8 tenor cutaway ukes, 5 acoustic bass ukes, 10 solid body bass ukes, 7 mini electric bass guitars

• Donate to The Ukulele Kids Club, they provide ukuleles to children's hospital music therapy programs. www.theukc.org
• Member The CC Strummers www.youtube.com/user/CCStrummers/video

At the same time, it gives you a little better understanding of how the music is built. Understanding basic chord progressions and the structure and functions can be very helpful. It can aid in memorization, transposition, and general playing. Is it essential? I suppose not, just as one can cook and follow a recipe, but not have any understanding of food, science, safety or how things work. It all depends on what you want to accomplish and how much you want to know. Certainly, it would not be a bad thing.

I always suggest this book http://www.edly.com/mtfpp.html It is VERY user friendly. While many music there texts can be really dry and boring, I daresay that this actually makes theory seem lighthearted and fun.

No - but a little bit of basic understanding helps a lot.

John Colter.

You don't need to go through a curriculum of theory before playing, but you will probably pick up a little bit of theory as you learn the ukulele.

You can just start with learning 2-3 chords by heart and strum them.
But allready here you will have to learn a bit about tempo - if you are playing 4/4 or 3/4.
It is not tricky, it is all in the srumming pattern.

In the same way you are going to learn a bit even if you don't try.

All you need to know is that the ukulele won't play itself. You gotta do that. If you start to feel hungry for theory, then get some.