Your go-to ukulele size?

ht852

Reaction score
Hi, I am still a uku newbie. Often torn between which sizes of uku to get. I wanna know your favorite ukulele size and what might lead you to choose it. Can you please share:

- your go-to ukulele size (one only pls)
- your go-to ukulele wood combo, solid/ laminate
- Favourite strings
- Number of ukes and sizes you own
- how long you've been 'uke'
- how long/ often to practice
- source of learning
- other musical backgrounds
- height (that helps to determine the hand size)
- contended or other ukus/ instrument you wanna try?

I reckon above are the factors that make a person decided on their favourite uku size.

Size.....started with concert. Tried soprano & tenor. Concert is my happy place.
Wood ...... have tried a lot, like them all for different reasons.
Strings.....Living Waters.
Numbers owned .......Have owned 10, currently own 4. One soprano, two concerts, one concert scale tenor. Always “window shopping.”
Been uke for 1 year & 6 months.
Practice ...... Play every day. Sometimes a few minutes. Sometimes I get lost in the music for hours.
Learning source .....I started learning from YouTube, then found local uke groups & workshops. Finding groups to play with & learn from has helped me improve a ton.
Music background ..... None.
Height really doesn’t matter. Hand size doesn’t always determine what size ukulele you can play or which you enjoy most. Many folks play all sizes.
No desire to play anything else. Playing my ukuleles is perfect for me.

Last edited:
Myself first:
- concert ( best fret spacing for me for strumming and fingerpick) (as I fingerpick more. starting to feel why people like Tenor - the sound, the space) (my sofa-side sopranino come 2nd for the mess around uku)
- Koa (spruce and rosewood is my 2nd love)
- 2 concert (hi/low G, can't decide which i like more), 1 tenor, 1 sopranino, 1 soprano (previously trade away about 5 ukus in concert/ tenor/ electric or not)
- since X'mas 2017