Practice

Loveiz

Reaction score
Just wondering how often and for how long do other beginners practice?
At the moment it's every day for an hour or more for me. But I'm right at the start of things.

Last edited:
Every day is good,but do what you are comfortable with! We had a learner group once, and I suggested an hour a day; one lady said she couldn't manage that, but was two hours on a sunday okay? I laughed and said no. Even ten minutes a day would be better for her.
To gain the muscle memory in your fingers, you need regular contact with your instrument,such as you are doing;and many folk need to toughen up their skin on the fingertips too.Keep playing,and be happy!

As a beginner, I would practice most days, rarely more than an hour, but often only for ten minutes or so; which is often all that's needed to reinforce whatever I learned the day before.

For me, the important thing isn't so much the time spent practicing as the project I'm working on. For example, I learned a lot building a repertoire of railway-themed songs for a performance at my brother in law's birthday party.

Now I'm not so much a beginner, I practice whenever I feel I need to, and that depends on whether I have a performance coming up or whether some new (to me) song or technique has grabbed my attention.

I've never practiced. I'm allergic to practice. I just pick up my uke when I'm bored and try to do things with it.

Just wondering how often and for how long do other beginners practice?
At the moment it's every day for an hour or more for me.