Rank newbie

boojiboo

Reaction score
Hi! I'm a raw beginner. I have trouble sticking with things, I can't sight read music, and I have no sense of rhythm. What I do have going for me is a love for the sound of a ukulele. I'm hoping that will be enough to keep me learning. :)

Welcome aboard! Love for the sound's a good way to keep you going. Practice will bring rhythm, and you can do most anything you're likely to want in the near term without reading music.

If you can build the habit of picking up your ukulele every day, even if it's only for a few minutes, you'll keep it going. That said, I usually find that forcing myself to play for 10 minutes doesn't work out that way, but I discover it after I've played an hour or so.... :) :) :)

Hello from across the pond.
Its there to enjoy mate, have fun, bet it makes you smile :)

Here is how to stick with it. Ukulele is about three basic things to start, forming chords, learning to strum and keeping time, tempo or rhythm......if you can count to four you got this. As soon as you get a little bit competent in those pick a song you like. An easy song, one with 2 or 3 EASY chords and start playing it. There is no greater motivation then actually playing a song you like.

The most common and easiest chord progression is C, F, & G learn these first and there are literally hundreds of songs you can play. Add chords, A, Am, Dm and D which are close in fret board postion and fingering pattern to F and you are off to the races.

Remember we learn to stand........then crawl.......then walk......then run. Try something too complicated in the beginning and you will get frustrated and give up.

Welcome to UU and the wonderful ukulele

Last edited: