Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Playing Classical Music-Linear or Re-Entrant, which is best?

Default Playing Classical Music-Linear or Re-Entrant, which is best?

I would appreciate opinions from those who play classical music (and I donít mean Elvis or Chuck Berry) on their Ukes as to which is the preferred string setups.
    "All worthwhile things in life should be easy to learn but hard to master"

Boat Paddle ML tenor - Red Spruce over Cocobolo
    Barron River 8 string tenor - All Honduran Quilted Mahogany
    Collings UC2 Concert - All Mahogany
    Hoffmann Lutherie - Baritone - Master Grade Ebony and AAA Red Spruce
    Beau Hannam Custom Tenor - Vintage Hand Rubbed Sun Burst all Tassie Blackwood
    Barron River Tenor - Satin Box Maple and Alaskan Yellow Cedar
    Hoffmann Lutherie - Concert - Angry Owl Ebony and Cedar

I don't play classical, but linear does give you more range.
    Trying to do justice to various musical instruments.

Hi
    I am a classical guitarist and play linear.
    In general, I find playing classical renditions on Uke very unrewarding.
    Daniel Ho, however, makes some classical pieces sound fantastic
    Ron

If the piece was written for Renaissance guitar, use the tuning of the original four-course instrument.

Otherwise, play it the way it was originally arranged. There are MANY examples of both tunings.
    Concert: Lanikai LU-21C (Aquila Nygut)
    Soprano: Kala KA-PWS (Southcoast Machete)
    Baritone: Kala KA-SBG (C: Southcoast LL-NW, A: TBD)
    Tenor: Kala ATP-CTG Aquila Nygut