Random orbital sander

ChuckBarnett

Reaction score
So I am at the sanding the body stage of my first project. Some folks recommend a random orbital sander. One more tool that I need on my journey. :)
I see that there are variable speed and non variable speed. The Makita bo5031K and the bo5030k are well recommended. The variable speed range goes from 4000 to 12000 RPMs. Any thoughts on the need for variable speed? Perhaps you could use the lower speeds for buffing, Etc? I know nothing about buffing or finishing generally and I am planning on doing French polish at first. I welcome your insights. :)

Chuck I'm a greenhorn at ukuleles but I've been a hobby woodworker for decades and I've done some finishing. IMHO the orbital sander is a bit of overkill for a something the size of a uke. At 5 " in diameter it won't be much good for the sides and even though its not supposed to leave scratches it can do some serious damage to your project if it gets away on you. Get yourself some sand paper say 150 220 320 and 400 grit and a sanding block and do it by hand. It's pretty hard to mess up a piece by hand sanding. Hand sanding something the size of a ukulele is not hard work and its very satisfying to see and feel the changes in the wood.
Just my two cents
Bill

Last edited:
I use a fixed speed DeWalt 5" orbital sander (DWE6421K) which can be used to thin wood. It works well. The two things I dislike about it are the weight (heavy) and the on-off switch (can come on by itself). Like the above poster, when I am sanding out for finishing, hand sanding is fine and you don't really need an orbital sander.