Pricing of Used Ukes

Jerryc41

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to the phenomenon of accumulating ukuleles, but I started thinking about pricing. If someone buys a new uke for $1,000 and sells it a few years later, he's not going to sell it for $1,000. The price might be $700.

Suppose that owner sells it three years later. Why would the price drop from $700? Assuming it's still in good condition, it could keep selling for $700 for the rest of its life. Of course, market conditions would also influence the price.

When I want to buy a particular make and model, I look at the price of a new one, and then I look at what 's available on the used market. Used usually comes out ahead.

From my experience so far, what you're saying is only one side of the coin.

The other big aspect is that when you put something up for sale, it becomes subject to the market's supply and demand. You gotta look at it from a commercial perspective.

Sure, the $1000 uke might be "rightfully worth" $700 in terms of its condition and properties, but as a second hand seller, you also have to consider whether it's a used ukulele that is in demand in the market.

Is there someone out there who is willing to pay $700 for it now?

If the answer is "no", then whether it is the rightful price or not is irrelevant. It simply won't sell, which defeats the purpose of putting it up for sale.

Pricing depends on your needs as the seller.
Do you need it to sell soon? Perhaps consider dropping the price below that "rightful" amount in the hopes to entice a potential buyer who would otherwise not have been interested. If you're in no hurry to sell, then keep it at the "rightful" amount and wait for the people who are in demand of that instrument at that price.

A used instrument also comes with additional risks of wear/damage from previous owner's use and storage, etc, which is why some buyers would prefer brand new unless the deal is very good.