8 string ukulele, I don't have opportunity to try in store, need advice from you guys

Newstart

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm currently torn between a few options on getting a 8 string ukulele.

I am new to to playing and I love the sound of the 8 string tenor and know I want to purchase one for Christmas, preferably electro acoustic.

I would prefer to try before I buy but unfortunately none of my local stores have any in stock so I need to order online.

I have found a second hand Ashbury AU-65E tenor 8 string electro acoustic which has a solid spruce top online which is at a very good rate in comparison to the original price. Usually worth around £350. However I have struggled to find many reviews and opinions of this one online.

The next two are at retail prices and are laminate bodies.

The second is the high tide Luna tenor 8 string electro acoustic. I love the look of this one and the cutaway on this one is a very appealing to me. For this I've seen mixed reviews however. Many love it but there is also talk in some views of the factory not being reliable with the quality.

The third option is the Baton Rouge 8 string. I've read a lot of amazing things about this one. Not a bad word said about it however it isn't electro acoustic so I would need to get a pickup added to it.

If any of you guys could give me advice at all I would appreciate it so so much. I am very new in the Uke world and want to make sure I'm making the best choice. Since I can't tried these out myself, I'm relying on other sources.

The Ashbury particularly I can't find any opinions on, so if anyone has one of these and could let me know there's views I would be so grateful

Thank you guys!