Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Slotted Headstocks?

Default Slotted Headstocks?

I've seen several threads lately where people are talking about how much they love slotted headstocks. Why? I'll go ahead and start by saying that I'm not particularly attracted to them. I'm just asking for the sake of discussion.
    I don't want to live in a world that is linear.

I just want everyone to understand that I am not a ukulele expert, even though it may look at times like I'm pretending to be.

https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_n...tective+Agency

Classical guitars and 19th and early 20th century guitars often had them. They are classic and they also put additional downward force on the nut. They allow for the use of very nice geared tuners without having the knobs sticking out like ears, (I never liked that on a banjo or ukulele). The downside is that they are a little more difficult to string. It comes down to preference, but unless the instrument is vintage, or a replica of a vintage instrument, I prefer them and I preferred them on my guitars as well. I also like the way the slots expose the different layers and shades of the wood where they bevel. To me, they give the head a lot of character and style.
    Last edited by Django; 12-30-2018 at 02:11 PM.
    Current Herd:

Sopranos:
    Recent Martins: 3 Centennial, 5K, 3 Cherry and OXK
    Vintage Martin: 1950s #1
    Kiwaya KTS-7
    Laughlin 3K, (1920 Martin 3K Bow Tie and Kite copy, 1 of 2) and Mahogany 3

Concert:
    Magic Fluke Flea

Tenor:
    Kiwaya KMT-K, strung with Aquila Reds, sweet as can be
    Pono Master Series Tenor, Cedar/Mahogany
    Romero Creations Replica, Mahogany

Tiple:
    Yasuma (Martin T28 copy, Rosewood with Spruce top)

I have and like them both, no preference particularly. It's nice that the layers of wood shows in a slotted head, but knobs sticking out or down don't matter to me at all.