Can a complete novice learn a song or two in four months?

Tonedef

Reaction score
Hi there!

I guess the point of my post is in the title but I'll give a little context:

I'm from England and my fiancee and I are going to Hawaii to get married. I have zero musical background and do not play any instruments but I got really taken by the idea of learning a song or two on the ukulele to play (and sing) for her when we have a picnic after the ceremony. It will just be the two of us and although I know that it's a bit corny I think that she'll love it, especially if it's a surprise.

From the massive range of experience on this site I was wondering if people could give me an idea if this is at all feasible or if I'm dreaming. I've found some tabs and good tutorials for the songs that I'd like to play and I'm disciplined and commited enough to see it through but I honestly have no idea of how hard it would be.

I should be clear that I'm not looking to be great, I just want to play a couple of simple songs sung in a simple understated way. Think campfire performance rather than stage performance!!

If anyone has any input, advice or suggestions then I'd love to hear it.

Thanks in advance!!

A lot of this will depend on the target songs.
I have dragged a half dozen newbies through the startup stages of uke playing. I picked songs that were all cords/strumming based rather than tabs/finger picking based.
We have had great success putting on Christmas shows for the family, in a similar informal environment to what you describe.

Not saying that a more advanced song is out of reach. Just that a sensible first step and then building is good.

What songs are you looking to play? Do you have links to the tabs?