NUD: $10 soprano

SpaceForRent

Reaction score
Yeah, that’s not a typo. I’m a rank newbie in need of something to play to get me started. This afternoon, I came across a like-new Pacific Soprano. It’s a super cheap Chinese made uke that’s just one step above a toy. But it’s going to get me playing and learning, which is the important part.

The good:
  • It was $10. I will certainly get $10 of use out of it.
  • It actually came with Aquila Nylgut strings.
  • The action is a bit high, but not terrible.
  • To these untrained ears, the sound is decent.
  • It came with a (super cheap) gig bag.

The bad:
  • The nut slots are all the same width (meaning 3 are too wide) and are U-shaped.
  • The nut was installed about 1mm off center and slightly tilted, high on the A-string side.
  • Two of the tuners are installed a bit crooked.
  • It won’t win any beauty contests.

D80B9252-6E05-4487-84CC-9AFFBB2B4CED.jpg 5907BF31-673D-40CC-8A95-094A5CC83400.jpg C9E7FC4E-ED6F-4E54-BD57-4BA319326418.jpg 2EBE113C-8981-4DB8-8EAA-B24ABA8966B9.jpg 63F40B69-FD30-445A-824A-DCC03DE97421.jpg

Verdict: It’s playable and was $10. I’m a happy, if not proud, owner.

Bought from online or someone? I've been picking up a few cheap ukes to chop up for the necks to make into cookie tin ukes.
They're priced at about what it would cost me to buy parts. Did get one with godawful fret spacing that hit the trash.
Good luck with yours. I'm still learning but throwing a couple of these toys has been fun!

Bought from online or someone? I've been picking up a few cheap ukes to chop up for the necks to make into cookie tin ukes.
They're priced at about what it would cost me to buy parts. Did get one with godawful fret spacing that hit the trash.
Good luck with yours. I'm still learning but throwing a couple of these toys has been fun!