KoAloha and internal humidifier: Cautionary note for internal humidifiers (eg Oasis)

KingPie

Reaction score
Hello folks,

I just wanted to share a recent note from KoAloaha repairs department. I was inquiring KoAloha regarding my ukulele I had purchased recently and they noticed my Oasis humidifier in the picture. They suggested that I should keep these internal humidifier out of the sound hole and relocate it toward the headstock area. They have been receiving numerous repair requests from folks using internal humidifier, where glue joints have come undone, possibly due to excessive humidity.

Happy strumming~

Peter

That’s interesting. So what really is the best way to properly humidify a nice uke?

Andy

That’s interesting. So what really is the best way to properly humidify a nice uke?

Andy

I am quite new to ukulele (or any musical instruments for that matter). I was told the internal humidifier similar to Oasis (I have OH-18) may leak or give off too much moisture than the smaller size of ukulele can handle. As recommended, I now have my humidifier behind the headstock. Perhaps others can chime in.

Depending on the design of the case - putting a single humidifier in the headstock compartment might not be sufficient. In my experience, there's not much air exchange between the two compartments in some hardshell cases, so the main compartment might not get enough water vapor.

Tests at home with guitars in hardshell cases showed me that the humidity readings in the guitar soundhole could be as much as 15 points higher than the readings from the headstock compartment. That lead me to making smaller humidifiers from pill bottles and water beads to tuck into the headstock area, along with the sponge type soundhole humidifiers in the main compartment.