NUD: Enya EUT-M6E cured my Baby T-Rex Hands Syndrome

AustinHing

Reaction score
I got this rare Baby T-Rex Hands Syndrome (BTRHS), so said the doc. My hands are not even the size of 12 years old’s. Wifey got the long slendery pianist fingers and sometimes do that T-Rex clawing gesture in jest. I accepted it and it is a fact.

In uke term, it means I’m legally binded to soprano ukulele for the rest of my life. I even struggled with concert. I barely made it to stretch across 5 frets between my index to pinky for a concert scale. It’s a PITA.

Recently, I started playing up to the neck, with my S1 and C1K ukes, soprano and concert scale length respectively. Alas! My BTRHS act up again, fingers are too fat and stubby to do a clean note when squeezed together. It’s like wearing some tight jeans and not all of your belly fats can go in nicely. You gotta breath in real hard.

Realising that all I need is a wider pair of jeans, or a bigger size uke, I immediately started my hunt for a tenor. It’s no easy feat. Given my condition of BTRHS, the doc said it’s impossible for me to find that tenor. A tenor that a BTRHS person can play.

Disregarding all advices from the doc, the wifey, even the neighbour next door, I went to many music stores for 2 weeks in a row, to seek for that one tenor. I tried every single tenor that was hanging on the wall. Kala, Ibanez, Fender, ANueNue, KoAloha, Kanile’a and even Kamaka. It was a lost cause.

When I was about to concede to my Baby T-Rex Hands Syndrome, the store assistant handed me something I didn’t had in mind. An odd-looking laminated tenor uke from Enya. EUT-X1C to be specified. Just to be clear, I also wanted a solid uke hence it wasn’t in my radar.