NUD: from a noob, Romero Creations Tiny Tenor

dobro

Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm pretty much a total newbie on the ukulele. I got my wife an inexpensive Kala soprano a couple years ago and she's started playing occasionally with a group from her church, and recently I've been going with her and playing along on guitar. The Ukulele Fever hit, so I decided to get one for myself.

I knew I wanted a little more fretboard room, and did a good bit of internet research the past few weeks. Last Saturday, I drove a couple hours to Atlanta to Uke Republic and tried out a bunch of instruments. Before I went, I was most interested in a Kumu koa laminate in either concert or tenor, or the satin finish spruce/mahogany laminate Tiny Tenor.

Mike left me alone in the showroom to noodle around on whatever I wanted, and when I finally got to the Tiny Tenor, it sounded to my ear better than anything else in my price range....so it came home with me. I think it will be a great starter instrument. It came strung up low-G, which I was looking for, but I can already see that I may have to add another uke strung up high-G! ;-)

I know some have mentioned this instrument is over-priced, but I don't agree. It may be for some, but not for me, as it had the sound I was looking for in the price range I wanted to spend, as well as being pretty well put-together. Not cheap, but not expensive...fairly priced IMO. I understand this series is no longer going to be made, which is a shame.

I've been playing a couple hours a day and have a *lot* to learn obviously, but I'm having a blast. My main instrument is the dobro (hence my screen name!), and since I play it lap style with a bar, it's a totally different animal. I do play some guitar as well, but I'm way out of practice...at least some of that knowledge is coming in handy on the ukulele...I really need to work on my right hand! I'm hoping to pick up some tips here on UU.

Sorry, no pics of my own yet...perhaps later.

Last edited: