Changing strings

Kherome

Reaction score
I bought an amazing Kala Elite from a forum member, and it came with a low G wound string. I really liked the sound. But I struggled with play along with videos because most of them had traditional gCEA tuning instead and my efforts didn't sound the same, which as a newbie, that threw me off. I finally got brave and restrung the uke to gCEA, by myself, which was very unnerving *for me.* I'm sure it's nothing to most but whew, I feel like I survived something...to be done, restrung, and everything went ok. (I think!) To make it more complicated (IMO) the uke strings go through the body, it's not as simple as a tie bridge. Trying to get the strings in and out through the sound hole was a little tough a couple of times. When I am a better player, I look forward to restringing with a low g again.

Well done! I’m a newbie to stringed instruments and the idea of restringing is, as you say, unnerving. When my Pono tenor arrived it had a steel wire C string and I found it painful on my fingers and a little harsh sounding, so I took it to a local guitar/ukulele shop (I wasn’t as brave as you). Maybe with more experience with my ukes I might try restringing one myself.

Congrats on your initiation of changing the strings. There really is not too much that can go wrong assuming you don't drop or damage the ukulele. Messing up the string is cheap, and still hard to do. I took the plunge with my tie-off bridge a few months ago looking on the net and then copying the other strings and was pleasantly surprised that it came out well (with ends still protruding everywhere).

Kevin, be brave and try changing them yourself next time. And if you mess up, then go to the shop and have them finish the job. It is a great feeling when you do it. This allows the next step of buying multiple string sets to see which sounds best on your uke!

duplicate post... having site issues

Last edited: