Kala KA-T Tenor Ukulele

deetee

Reaction score
I'm a beginner and would like to know...Does anyone play the Kala KA-T Tenor Ukulele...how do you find it in terms of sound and playability?

Screen Shot 2019-04-04 at 15.54.14.jpg

I've played these in the shops, and found them to be a perfectly fine instrument for beginner to intermediate players. As a beginner, I think it's more important to be sure the tenor is the right size for you, as some of the chord finger stretches will be further apart. If you are a former guitar player, tenor will be perfect. If not, many recommend concert ukes for beginners instead. I'd also try a concert before you decide.

I have one, it's the only actual normal tenor uke I have, but I have several tenor scale ukes, with smaller bodies, & an electric steel string. ;)

It's a good uke, plays well, & has a nice tone - with decent strings - I didn't like the ones that came on it, (personal opinion). :)

(If you haven't played a stringed instrument before, I too, suggest starting with a concert scale.)

I have one, it's the only actual normal tenor uke I have, but I have several tenor scale ukes, with smaller bodies, & an electric steel string. ;)

It's a good uke, plays well, & has a nice tone - with decent strings - I didn't like the ones that came on it, (personal opinion). :)

(If you haven't played a stringed instrument before, I too, suggest starting with a concert scale.)

What strings did you replace them with. I've just ordered a set of Aquila Titanium.

I tried a concert and it was too small. Have played a bit of guitar. I bought the Kala...just wondering what others thought about them.

I have one but the TEME version which sounds great to my ears.

The Tenor scale works better for me than a Concert since it is far more confortable on the fretboard.

If in doubt go Tenor

Tried to have a look at those strings but it appears the website is suspended

http://www.kenmiddleton.co.uk