Funny ukulele story.

jnicholes

Reaction score
Hello,

So, it took me a while to realize that my ukulele was slightly flat. By this, I mean all the strings were slightly flat. I discovered this when I compared the notes to my piano that I recently got in tune. So, I tuned the ukulele. Then, I decided to try out a song, and see how it sounded.

I was going through songs, just having a jam session by myself. Eventually, I got to the point where I thought to myself, "I know all the chords I need to know. I can play any song with practice."

Then, as I was reading the sheet music and playing, I came across a cord I did not know. My reaction was priceless. I thought I knew all the cords I need to know, but apparently I was mistaken. I laughed pretty hard.

Well, it looks like I am still learning!

Jared

The problem with the ukulele, is that you can only play a maximum of four notes - although I view it as a boon, not a disadvantage. Many chords should properly include more than our four notes. Fortunately, it is usually possible to make a good fist of any chord, provided you select the best four from those required.

John Colter.

I'll second that, John. And having just four strings to work with is the reason that I strive to avoid chord fingerings which include the same exact note twice-- the classic example being the common "G" chord (in re-entrant tuning), fingered 0232. For one thing, it's hard to make the second and fourth strings (unison) sound precisely in tune with each other; and beyond that, I just feel like "Hey, you've only got four notes to work with; why waste one by having it be the same as one of the others?" Now, I do realize that others may see this differently, but that's my take... :D (So, in lieu of the common fingering for that "G", I'll use 2232.)

Ah! A fellow traveler! Yes, Bill, I often use the full form of the first position 'G' chord. Perversely, though, I prefer the sound the full 'C' chord - 5433, as against the regular 0003.

John Colter.