clawhammer question

seasidesal

Reaction score
Has anyone experimented with different brands of strings to see how they affect clawhammer techniques, on 4-string or 8-string tenor uke?

Would appreciate hearing any observations and suggestions from this very knowledgeable community.

Thanks in advance!

Hi Seasidesal. Could you get a bit deeper on what you are looking for? I’m not sure I understand how different strings might change or impact my right hand technique while playing claw style. I recently restrung a tenor with Seaguar line I had from stringing open back banjos, and while the sound was a bit different from the old strings I don’t see how they changed my playing technique.

Sure, but I'm a beginner so I might not even know how to say what what I mean! And I know that the ultimate answer is to keep trying different strings until I find the right fit for me. But I am frequently amazed at how observant people are and how much I've learned even from the most casual comments, so I'll try to explain.

I guess one thing is the way the fourth string responds to being snapped. I played one that felt tough and stiff, and I played another one that felt weak and fragile. Since there is infinity in between those two extremes, I just wondered what strings I might try next in this experiment. They both made dull thud sounds. I don't know what brands they were but they were both white.

Another thing is the way the picked strings ring out (or don't) over the snapped string and the brushed strings. The sounds I make are very unbalanced. Probably operator error but you never know what others might have learned until you ask.

I might try the Seaguar fix first so thanks for the idea. I just found a bunch in the fishing tackle collection that is embarrassingly larger than the ukulele collection right now. But the ukes are quickly catching up. Always about balance, right?

Thank you for being willing to chat about this!

Hi Seasidesal,