Best course book

Userro

Reaction score
Hello,
as a beginner I've spent my first weeks with my ukulele in awe of the music I could unexpectedly pull out of it with youtube tutorials.
But as time passes and I progress, I feel like I've reached an early plateau: I need technique and I need method to further learn playing uke.
As I do not have the chance to partecipate in a class, I thought I could learn from a book.

Could you please point to me some of the best learning books there's around?
There're a lot of choices but I want to hear the words of the wise men around here.

Thanks!

If you have an amazon account you can sample the method books before you buy. (don’t have to buy at Amazon). Some people would recommend the ukulele for dummies book.

Searching amazon for method books would also give you an idea of what is available. Again, don’t have to buy there, this is research.

The concise answer is, It Depends.

Totally serious about that, everyone learns differently. I've got a stack of books, some I like, some I love and some are so-so.
You really won't know till you have them and try them.
I liked Ukulele for Dummies a lot and usually recommend it first.
Music Theory for Dummies is also very good, if you are curious about music structure.

It is possible to get used books on Ebay that are affordable or post a WTB (want to buy) in the Ukulele Marketplace for used beginner books.

I love books so I one day hope to own them all.

I've got an Ukulele Scales book coming to me in the next couple days.

Well I found an used 2nd edition Ukulele for dummies and ordered it. Gotta start somewher I guess...
I'll let you know if it will be useful.
Thanks a lot!

Hello,
as a beginner I've spent my first weeks with my ukulele in awe of the music I could unexpectedly pull out of it with youtube tutorials.
But as time passes and I progress, I feel like I've reached an early plateau: I need technique and I need method to further learn playing uke.