Thread: Greetings from Cape Cod

Default Greetings from Cape Cod

E02AE68A-C407-4D5A-86C7-38AB17A968BC.jpgGreetings: My name is Karl Hoyt. I'm a retired high school woodworking teacher who also taught guitar building to my students..... I've been building guitar family stringed instruments since 1978.

Recently I got stung by the Uke building bug after making a Soprano for a friend, and then (with their help) 4 more for my grandkids. Fun.

So I decided to join to be able to hear from uke devotees about your designs, build hints, etc.... looking through the luthiery pages, I'm already learning some here and there. I'm prepping up about 5 more as we speak. Mosty Concerts, but one soprano. I do have the luxury of a CNC so a tenor form is coming soon. I'm using the GAL plans for now until I get the feel for these instruments

Thanks! Many folks who read my posts in other forums find that they are great insomnia cures :-)

Karl Hoyt.
    Last edited by Karl Hoyt; 06-16-2019 at 04:32 AM. Reason: Old brain, fat fingers

Welcome Karl...I don’t have any woodworking skills so I must be content to purchase my ukes.....I’m gealous.

Welcome Karl. Obviously you know what you're doing, and even though I'm not a full fledged builder, I partially modify existing 3/4 electric guitars into bass ukes, I'm very envious of your CNC machine, I'm a gadget freak.

This is Michael Kohan in Los Angeles, Beverly West near the Beverly Center
    9 tenor cutaway ukes, 5 acoustic bass ukes, 11 solid body bass ukes, 9 mini electric bass guitars (Total: 34)

• Donate to The Ukulele Kids Club, they provide ukuleles to children in hospital music therapy programs. www.theukc.org
    • Member The CC Strummers: YouTube: www.youtube.com/user/CCStrummers/video, Facebook: www.facebook.com/TheCCStrummers

Hi Karl.

Welcome from the South Shore!!
    "Life is short. Opera is long."

Anonymous

Quote Originally Posted by Stagehand View Post
    Hi Karl.

Welcome from the South Shore!!