Soprano Tension-- due to size or strings?

OpAwesome

Reaction score
I have acquired an old (2003) KoAloha soprano (KSM-00). I was surprised by how 'loose' the strings feel- I believe it is set up with Hilo black nylon strings. I was wondering if the 'loose' feeling is due to the strings, or that sopranos have significantly less tension than concert or tenor ukuleles.

By 'loose' feeling I mean I can bend the strings with very little effort to get the note more sharp, and often times find myself pressing too hard that the strings go sharp anyways.

I am still new to ukes, but have been practicing on a beginner concert uke (Aklot), and really enjoying and playing the most my Tenor (Fender Montecito)-- I think both of them have Aquila strings.

I know every instrument needs to be practiced upon, really getting to know it, but my efforts transferred effortlessly between concert and tenor (and a 6 string tenor)- that I am a little discouraged by how different the soprano seems to handle. I really wanted a NICE soprano for a road trip next month (my tenor is a little too long to be riding shotgun). I LOVE the look and sound from the KSM-00, and have zero regrets buying it, I just want it to be perfect ;)

I guess the questions I need answered are:
1) Does a soprano inherently have far less tension than the larger instruments?
2) If strings bear some of the factor, should I switch from nylon to fluorocarbon or Nygut?