Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Fingerpicking on a concert size

Default Fingerpicking on a concert size

I am wondering if many people use a concert uke for fingerpicking. Do you feel the size limits you or do you just adjust to the smaller size. I am curious to see what people think.

I enjoy finger picking on a concert as much as with a tenor. I certainly don’t feel limited by a concert. If anything they seems a bit more relaxed to play.

I like the concert scale so never had to adjust. I tried tenor many times in stores and did not adjust. So ye, I fingerpick (and strum, and touch tenderly...) my concert ukes.

I have just discovered Del Rey What an inspirational musician. Here she is fingerpicking a concert scale resonator.

Happy just to be a Newbie +, Penny

I fingerpick both concert and soprano and can hardly tell the difference.
    I don't want to live in a world that is linear.

I just want everyone to understand that I am not a ukulele expert, even though it may look at times like I'm pretending to be.

https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_n...tective+Agency

Quote Originally Posted by prb035 View Post
    I have just discovered Del Rey What an inspirational musician. Here she is fingerpicking a concert scale resonator.
    I attended a Del Rey workshop last fall and I'm pretty sure that she can play anything on anything.

I just want everyone to understand that I am not a ukulele expert, even though it may look at times like I'm pretending to be.

My concert is tuned "low-G" so it gets used as when I play an arrangement that requires it. My tenor is tuned "hi-G" so gets more use, but I must admit to not really noticing the difference unless I put one instrument down and immediately pick up the other!