How to position my fretting hand

McCall

Reaction score
Hello, I'm new to the Uke, and I have a question about changing positions with my fretting hand.

As a very simple example of what I'm asking about, when I'm fretting, say, a C7 (0001) chord, sometimes my fretting hand is pivoted way up the side of the fretboard, so that the side of my hand is almost touching the tuners.

But sometimes when fretting that same C7 (0001) chord, depending on which chord I'll be switching to next, my fretting hand will be pivoted way down the side of the fretboard so my little finger is down near the fifth fret or so.

So even though I'm fretting that same C7 (0001) chord, the position, or angle, of my hand will be pretty different depending on which chord is coming next.

I want to try to have decent technique, so I'm wondering is having different hand positions like this just a normal part of how fretting is done? Or should I be trying to replicate the same hand position each time to be consistent?

So even though I'm fretting that same C7 (0001) chord, the position, or angle, of my hand will be pretty different depending on which chord is coming next.

Hi, McCall! That is quite natural as seen in figures below.

Larkin Poe's Rebecca plays A chord in different grips.

Not usually a big deal, but it sounds like you might look for a happy-medium for that chord to avoid torquing your finger so much when your hand is pivoted towards the tuners. As you play more you'll drop into comfortable positions for each chord. Main thing to watch out for is bad technique in general - fingers sideways to the frets, wrist at severe angles, etc...

Hello, I'm new to the Uke, and I have a question about changing positions with my fretting hand.

As a very simple example of what I'm asking about, when I'm fretting, say, a C7 (0001) chord, sometimes my fretting hand is pivoted way up the side of the fretboard, so that the side of my hand is almost touching the tuners.