Second Uke

ukegrom

Reaction score
Hello All.

I'm still a beginner but am considering a second uke. I currently have a Cordoba 15CM and really enjoy playing it. I'm thinking it would be nice to have a solid wood instrument and looking at a few. Looking at tenors for something different and was wondering if most people stay with the same scale uke or branch out in their collection. I have played both sizes and they seem fine. I just hope I don't mess myself up going back and forth :D

Thanks for your feedback.

Hello All.

I'm still a beginner but am considering a second uke. I currently have a Cordoba 15CM and really enjoy playing it. I'm thinking it would be nice to have a solid wood instrument and looking at a few. Looking at tenors for something different and was wondering if most people stay with the same scale uke or branch out in their collection. I have played both sizes and they seem fine. I just hope I don't mess myself up going back and forth :D

Benefits of trying a different uke same scale
1. Different and maybe better sound. Leading to different experience for the same songs and variation in choice of songs you like to play.
2. Experience a different playability (frets, height, feel, weight)

Benefits of trying a different scale.
1. Everything from above
2. Experience different scale and how it feels, you might like it or not or won't matter
3. Different portability (soprano easier to travel with)
4. Different tuning if going with baritone.

I have skipped concert all together and have sopranos, tenors or baritones. A friend of mine does only concerts but we have tried different scales.

In my opinion get a different scale from a different maker.