What would be more fun?

Halb

Reaction score
I am a complete novice, but would love to learn to play a uke. I have researched both concert uke’s and banjo uke’s. What would be more fun to buy? I would enjoy reading some opinions.

Thanks!
Hal

"Fun" is in the ear of the beholder. That said, I think you should get ukulele or a banjo, but not a banjo ukulele. With a banjo uke, you'll be (presumably) listening to youtube.com (etc) videos played on a ukulele, but your instrument will sound like a banjo.

I started on a banjo uke, but then I was primarily interested in learning clawhammer banjo. 5 years later I came back around to the ukulele which I’m playing much more than the banjo at this time. Banjo uke from my experience will be louder, more percussive, have less sustain, and perhaps draw more attention. While banjo uke is by no means a one trick pony, a traditional ukulele can be a more versatile instrument. Which appeals to you more? The more fun instrument is going to be a pretty personal thing. Ultimately I’d be happy with a quality instrument either way. When I went to a bluegrass festival this month I took my fiddle and a tenor ukulele.

Last edited:
Banjo ukes sound a bit like banjos. If that's the sound you are after, then go for it. If it's not, then don't. They would both be equally fun.

What kind of music do you want to play? Music is in the ear of the beholder of course, but I think generally a banjo uke is a good fit for 1920s-30s jazz and Tin Pan Alley songs. Also music hall comedy songs a la George Formby. It's also nice for 19th-century folksongs and back-country blues.