Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Do You Have Pickups in Your Ukes?

Default Do You Have Pickups in Your Ukes?

I have never ordered a uke with a pickup, but 8% of what I have now came with pickups when I bought them used. If I was performing publicly, I could see a need for one, but no one wants to see me playing and singing in public.

How about you? Many pickups?
    Too many ukes, but I can't stop buying!
    https://www.catskillukulelegroup.com/

I own 4 ukes currently, and 2 have with MiSi pick-ups. I skipped adding a pick-up in my Blackbird Clara when I got it from HMS. As my outdoor/festival/camping/travel ukulele, I didn't think I'd need one in it, but now wish I had gotten them to install one. I do play plugged in at church every Sunday, and occasionally at uke groups, festivals, etc.

Which has me thinking.....I'm helping out the music therapists & music volunteers at the children's hospital where I'm a nurse tomorrow. I'm providing music support for a sing-along that will be broadcast via closed circuit TV to the patient's rooms. I initially thought it was something the kids would come to the music room to participate in, so I'd bring my loud & clear Clara. Now that I know that we'll be broadcasting, maybe my Moonbird or KoAloha that can be plugged in would be a better choice? Hmmmm.
    Last edited by RafterGirl; 08-15-2019 at 07:46 AM.
    My ukulele family.....
    KoAloha Koa concert - circa 2006
    aNueNue Moon Bird concert - Spruce & Rosewood - 2018
    Blackbird Clara - 2019
    Kanilea KCS-SSP super soprano - circa 2016

Quote Originally Posted by RafterGirl View Post
    ...but now wish I had gotten them to install one.
    It's not very difficult to install a pickup, and they're under $100. I think the pickup I linked below is what I have in all of mine.

https://smile.amazon.com/Aloha-Twin-...gateway&sr=8-7
    Too many ukes, but I can't stop buying!
    https://www.catskillukulelegroup.com/