Fluke Question.

rps

Reaction score
Hello all,

I am considering buying a Fluke Tenor. I have read quite a few reviews and all seem good. What I am wondering about is the polycarbonate fret board. A few reviews mentioned that they wear down fairly quickly. The chain where I am intending to buy does not stock the wood fret board.

I am a newbie who has a concert size and I am looking into tenor.
I don’t gig but do belong to a Uke Circle. Any Fluke player have issues with the build, especially the fret board.....

Hello all,

I am considering buying a Fluke Tenor. I have read quite a few reviews and all seem good. What I am wondering about is the polycarbonate fret board. A few reviews mentioned that they wear down fairly quickly. The chain where I am intending to buy does not stock the wood fret board.

I am a newbie who has a concert size and I am looking into tenor.
I don’t gig but do belong to a Uke Circle. Any Fluke player have issues with the build, especially the fret board.....

I believe the prevailing wisdom is that wound strings such as a wound low g chew up the plastic fretboard. As long as you avoid those, you should be fine. So, you could still play low g, but all the strings would have to be fluorocarbon.

I seem to recall reading that if your fretboard does show wear due to using fluorocarbon strings, etc, Magic Fluke Co will replace your fretboard for free.

Good luck!

Those are great instruments. You can check with the folks at Magic Fluke, but they hold up really well. I would think it would take years of hard playing to see any deterioration. I had one for a number of years and saw no change. I am sure lots of people here will weigh in with their experiences.

My Fluke has been my daily player for almost 20 years now. It has survived nylon, nylgut and fluorocarbon strings -- never wound -- and the plastic frets show no sign of wear.