Aloha from (another) uker from Finland!

Jupu

Reaction score
Hi, all!

I have been playing for about four months now. I'd say the uke is my first instrument. I did buy a plastic trombone (with a silver mouthpiece) for my 30th birthday, but I didn't realize it made too loud a sound for apartment building playing. Until I find a better spot to play, I regret it has to stay in the closet.

You see, I always wanted to play something and envied those who could. I like singing (also karaoke) and am interested in music theory, although my education and experience in that regard is limited to high school musical level.

And btw, talking about trombone and school, one of my elementary school music teachers was a trombone player. He let us try the mouthpiece, but I doubt it had a big effect on my looking towards the instrument later. But he is connected in my musical journey: he asked me to play what at least we called a "chicken shake" - a plastic percussion egg - for the school orchestra. I even remember the situation in the school hallway, where he privately asked me that, convincing me that "we need precise guys for playing percussions in the orchestra" and then he even showed me the rhythm I also remember to this day: "paa-paa-papaa-paa-paa-paa-pa-paa".

I declined. I thought the egg was a toy, an embarrassing non-instrument to play! Also, the penis is nicknamed "egg" in Finnish, and I suspected I might hear about it, even though I wasn't bullied otherwise and had some friends playing other instruments in the orchestra. That was the moment my percussionist's (I'm sure I didn't even know what the word really meant) career went down the loo!

Anyway, later on in life, getting older (and maybe slower in the head), the trombone interested me, since the UX seems so easy - not having to learn fingerings or even notes or tabs - just thinking it as an extension of you. Reminds me of singing. A bit like a theremin, which I'd also like to try.